The Seven Chakras

The chakra system has always been with us, it is part of how the human body is constructed, much the same as having a nose or kidneys.

The first written account of it was found in the Vedas, a large body of religious texts originating in ancient India.

Chakra is a term from the Sanskrit classical language of India meaning ‘disk’ ‘wheel’ or ‘vortex’

Chakras are the circular vortexes of energy that are placed in seven positions along the spinal column.

These are the seven major energy centres of the body and each of the seven chakras is governed by spiritual laws and principles of consciousness that we can use to grow greater harmony, happiness, and wellbeing in our lives and in the world.

In a healthy, balanced human being or animal, the seven chakras provide the correct balance of energy to all parts of your body, mind, and spirit.

But, if one of these chakras spins too quickly, becomes blocked, or moves slowly, your health will suffer.

The 7 Chakras
The Seven Chaka Positions In The Human Body

The Seven Chakras Explained





Below is more information on the seven different chakras. Each of the seven main chakras has a corresponding number, name, colour, specific area of the spine from the sacrum to the crown of the head, and health focus.

Root Chakra Muladhara Red



Chakra Number: One.

Colour Red.

Location: Base of the spine.

Meaning: It is the first and is associated with our need for survival and security. This Chakra connects your energy with the Earth and to give you everything you need to survive.

Sacral Chakra Swadhisthana Orange



Chakra Number: Two.

Colour: Orange.

Location: Below the belly button to your sexual organs.

Meaning: This chakra is linked to our creative abilities, our sensations and also our ability to be vulnerable.

Solar Plexus Chakra Manipura Yellow



Chakra Number: Three.

Colour: Yellow.

Location: Located in the rib cage.

Meaning: The Solar Plexus Chakra provides us with our want to succeed. It is also home to our personal power and self worth and is also known as the ‘power Chakra’.

Heart Chakra Anahata Green



Chakra Number: Four.

Colour: Green

Location: Centre of the chest.

Meaning: The Heart Chakra which is where our ability to be compassionate, forgiving and loving comes from but is also linked to intuition.

Throat Chakra Vishuddha Blue



Chakra Number: Five.

Colour: Blue.

Location: Throat.

Meaning: The Throat Chakra enables you to speak the truth, without fear and allows us to be good communicators, helping us to feel centred and happy.

Brow Third Eye Chakra Purple Anja



Chakra Number: Six.

Colour: Indigo

Location: Head.

Meaning: Known as The Third Eye – Most people will have heard of this Chakra but perhaps not have known what it was as it is often referenced in popular culture especially when it comes to Clairvoyance. This is because it can help with our psychic and spiritual awareness. It is said that if your Third Eye is open and balanced you will have good instincts.

Crown Chakra Sahasrara violet



Chakra Number: Seven.

Colour: Purple

Location: Top of the head.

Meaning: The Crown Chakra is known is your connection to everything – it is where you get your energy from and where all your thoughts and ideas about nature, space and time come from. To achieve balance here would be the same as a Buddhist reaching nirvana.

Want to know more? Contact Me

2 thoughts on “The Seven Chakras”

  1. Hi Lucy,
    Thank you for your lovely comment. I am glad you found my website informative and useful. Please don’t hesitate to get in contact with me if you have any further questions.
    Many thanks 😊🙏


Leave a Comment

Item added to cart.
0 items - £0.00